How to explain to people what it is we do.

Discussion in 'Stryker' started by Anonymous, Mar 26, 2015 at 11:45 PM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Nobody outside of devices (majority of people) understands what the hell it is I do. I tell people I work for Stryker, like friends family etc girls at bars whatever. They have never heard of it, and I explain it but find it hard to explain. Usually get the blank stare back. It the classic nod and smile.

$150 k a year in your 20s is good, but this job is extremely hard.,rewarding and I love it, but do yall experience the same thing? I feel like people think I'm a male nurse or something. The baby boomers think device reps make a killing, but the millennials have no clue. All the millenils are working for start ups, finance, or tech companies.

Feel like this job has no social value. In the past the mega $ made up for it. Maybe explains why newer reps wear scrubs everywhere to justify self worth.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

My best friend works for Medtronic and is a top rep year in and year out...and I have been in pharmaceuticals for about 20 years....and we tell people that we are high paid caterers.

and I am not joking.

Sure, we are good at sales. but, that is pretty much what we all do. the surgical reps as well. they are kidding themselves if they think otherwise.

The managers are the ones that really get the best ride in all of this. If you are in your 20s, then you should make a move into management as soon as possible, because companies like to shuffle things around to make it seem like they are "working".

Good luck. Find a catering company that will work with you, so you can grab a few meals on the side.

3. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Stop wearing your scrubs and they'll stop confusing you with a "male nurse"! How demoralizing that must be confusing someone with such a high level of self importance with a person like that.

4. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest