MD/MBA can't get an MSL interview for the life of me

Discussion in 'MSL Board' started by oneiro, Sep 8, 2014 at 12:37 AM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. oneiro

oneiro Guest

I am a residency trained physician in anesthesiology, board eligible; MD and MBA from an Ivy League- and I can't get so much as an interview. Every MSL job post wants experience. Sure I'm playing the alumni and LinkedIn network as hard as I can, recruiters tell me they'll be happy to help me get my *second* job in pharma- but can't help me with the first. What the heck, am I missing something completely?

Any opinions appreciated.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Why would you want to be an MSL when you could make 3-4 times as much as an anesthesiologist? Might be a case of being over-qualified.

3. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Agreed and you don't have to put up with company politics like sales managers who think you are just another rep or reps that resent you because you don't have their metrics.

4. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

OP here. I am looking into this industry because I was disbarred and cannot practice medicine for 2 years. I thought a MSL job may be a good stop gap until I get my license back.

5. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

It's not an absolute requirement, but a lot of companies do require that you have an active license in order to be employed by them. The reason why you are not getting past the HR desk is likely because of that.

6. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Do you know of any place I can get a fake MD license to pass the background check? Thanks for any help you can lend.

7. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Absolutely not true. How many MSL jobs require a license? Please list a few.

More than likely, OP is being turned away because of the action against him, or he is telegraphing that he only wants the position in a temp way. Unlikely that HR would move forward with someone looking to make just a 2 year commitment.