Shire is intolerant of people with ADHD who work there.

Discussion in 'Shire' started by Anonymous, Apr 20, 2010 at 11:01 AM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

I have ADHD. It had never been a problem on the job that is until I worked for Shire in their Chesterbrook offices. I was a contractor, and although not a Shire FTE, I gave it my all and then some. When I first got onboard I was constantly asked if I thought I would stay because as my supervisor put it, I was doing a fantastic job. At first I thought the situation ironic. Here I am working for the company that makes my ADHD med. - Vyvanse.
    Since I was now a contractor I was paying close to 400 dollars a month for a 30 day supply of Vyvanse. I would take the med in the morning and it lasted well past the end of the work day. After a few months it became apparent that I couldn’t foot the bill out of pocket for the drug. I stopped taking it because I just couldn’t afford it. My troubles then started at work. Late assignments, missed deadlines etc. All entirely my fault and no one else’s.
    My supervisor brought me in to her office to find out what was going on since up to that point I was doing great. I wrestled with decision beforehand whether or not to tell her that I had ADHD, and was currently looking for something that I could afford. I thought maybe I would get a break because of my past excellent performance. I decided to tell her that I did have ADHD and that I was currently off meds, but was taking steps to correct the issue. Normally I would never disclose having ADHD since it had never been an issue on the job while medicated. I thought this because; they made ADHD drugs here at Shire. Maybe my supervisor would understand?