advice...

Discussion in 'KCI' started by Anonymous, Mar 9, 2014 at 10:36 AM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

I am posting on a few device boards hoping to get some suggestions on how to make the move from pharma to device sale. I have been in pharma for 15 years and have had a great career here. I have stayed with this company for so long because my base is $115K, 20K in bonuses and the work/life balance has been ideal while my kids were younger. Now that they are older and I need to pay for college, I want a position in medical device where there are better financial opportunities and the position is more challenging.

I think the problem is that companies and recruiters look at me as a sample dropper that can't sell my way out of a box and I can't even get a phone call. My obstacle is overcoming this perception because I am not a glorified UPS driver and I can in fact sell. I have a science degree and can easily grasp the technical end of the position and my sales skills are above average. I actually do try to talk to my target physicians on every call and I have won several awards which reinforce the fact that I can sell. So, how do I convince those that are doing the hiring to at least give me a phone interview? I think I have a good resume but when they see 15 years in pharma, I don't think they are even giving me an opportunity.

Any insight or suggestions would be helpful. Or any recruiters that actually take the time to talk to a potential candidate would also be appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest