Any advice for breaking into pharmaceutical sales?

Discussion in 'Pharma/Biotech Comp - Gen Discussion |Pharma Sales' started by anonymous, Jun 17, 2016 at 12:44 PM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Hello, I am a college student and am considering a career in this field, i am working as a pharmacy tech now, hoping this would help me get in, is it hard to get in and whats a typical day like

2. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Get your pharmaD that's the best advice to give you if you want to have a long term pharma career ..

3. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Is there any way I can get into pharmaceutical sales without getting my pharmaD? I don't really want to become a pharmacist, chemistry was never my thing, i prefer biology

4. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Simply stated - you don't need a PharmD or BS in any healthcare related field to break into pharmaceutical sales. Based upon the way things work these days, you probably have a better shot at breaking into pharma sales if you have a catering background. After all, access is so limited these days that the only way you ever get into practices is by bringing breakfast or lunch. If you have a catering business on the side, even better, as that could be a 2 for 1 deal. Good luck!

5. anonymous

anonymous Guest

While the responses are very sarcastic, they are kinda accurate. I think what other people are saying is, be careful/maybe this isn't the industry you want to get into anyway. I'll give my 2 cents, take it for what it's worth. I've been doing pharma sales for about 20 years now. I have 3 very close friends who are or were pharma sales reps for an extended period of time.