I'm burned out. Any zero pressure, sample only jobs? Or otc to pharmacies?

Discussion in 'The Darkened Sample Closet' started by anonymous, Jan 23, 2017 at 11:16 PM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Ive been doing this for 22 years. I'm totally fried. Need something non stress for a few more years. Not worried about the money. Just need benefits and a salary for a few years.

2. anonymous

anonymous Guest

stay in until they cut you loose or you can retire...You will see when
    you get out in the real world with 22 years of pharma sales on your resume
    you will be about as valuable as a cell phone from about 20 years ago...

No one wants to hire ex drug reps, especially those with gray around the temples...

good luck to you...I was pushed out at 50 and am struggling like crazy to keep
    it all together...raided the IRA accounts to survive.

3. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Ditto- same here- last 3 jobs all disappeared due to merger/aquisition, sale of divison, etc- I am 57, and thank god got all my kids through college before my last layoff- have been unemployed 13 months- apply for lots of positions, but employers (and recruitters in particular) will not look at you unless you are an 'exact match' for industry, disease state, drug class, etc- I have 30 years sales, 20 in pharma/animal health, and the best I can do is an offer from Trugreen to go door-to-door selling lawn care service- $700 a week base- WTF?? if my wife were not employed full time with good job at hospital, I would be bankrupt and moving in with my 85 yo mom- have to laugh to keep from crying- yeah, 401K is about to be cashed in to pay off debt- nuculear option I know, but we are drowning- I have done so much up to now (specialty sales, national accounts) and now I cant get a damn job anywhere! many new opportunities are '1099 reps' paid commission only on a per-sale basis- I would accept the risk and work for a start-up if I could find one ......

4. anonymous