JOM Deselection

Discussion in 'Johnson & Johnson' started by Anonymous, Apr 16, 2008 at 8:49 AM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Yesterday at JOM/GPSG they deselected 37 associates. Many of them were over the age of 40 and some were in their early 50's. Management also made the decision to close down the Bridgewater Distribution Center in August of this year. All of the material that was shipped out of Bridgewater will now be shipped from our brand new distribution center in Kentucky.

I can't believe they deselected 37 associates, that's 1/2 of the New Jersey workforce in distribution for JOM/GPSG.

The Sales & Marketing Distribution Center is now being evaluated to see if it is better to go 3rd Party. That decision will be made by years end.

I have been working there for 7 years, and I can honestly say Management has changed so much in the past 7 years. The old school is out and this "NEW" school Management is in. They hire people straight out of college with ZERO experience (oh except for a 8 month internship) and make them Team Leaders with 20 direct reports. What do these kids know about having direct reports? They even promoted one person from Customer Service to a Team Leader in Distribution, and his education was a 2 year degree for Web Design. What a JOKE!

One guy they deselected was 53 years old, with 34 years in J&J. 2 years away from retirement and they get rid of him.

I was one of the lucky ones who got to keep his job, my ratings have always been good, so I was not deselected. But when I heard and saw all these people losing their jobs, it hurt me, because I know all these people and I'm friends with them.

This shows how at any moment Management is ready to start cutting, no matter how big or small. I hear about other layoffs in the company, but it never hits home until it happens to you or someone you know. I think it sucks.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest