Sales Awards Playing Favorites

Discussion in 'Merck' started by anonymous, Apr 11, 2018 at 9:46 PM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. anonymous

anonymous Guest

?

2. anonymous

anonymous Guest

I will respond to this topic as I was a Manager here and have direct experience as to how this process actually transpired.

When I was at Merck, two years ago, 50% of your differentiation was based on actual performance and 50% based on your managers appraisals. I don’t know if that remains the current process.

As managers we would meet with the region director and rank our representatives initially on performance and then our perception. It was an absolute travesty. The RD had their favorites which needed to coincide with managers appraisal. The system allowed your performance to be top ranked but you may walk away with nothing because you did not kiss your managers rear end. It is favoritism at its finest. Managers and RD would laugh at how reps ended up being ranked. It is an immoral process and I am very happy that I no longer have to participate in this process.

3. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Iam now employed at Enterprise Rentals. Less stress and will be assistant manager soon.

4. anonymous

anonymous Guest

I KNEW IT!!!! Michael Raymond LOVED folks who kissed his butt!!! The "winners" were lacklustre and it showed. Glad he was FIRED!!!

5. anonymous

anonymous Guest

Lance definitely had his favorite!

6. anonymous

anonymous Guest

I second your excellent description of this process. We called it the meat market. My RM was the biggest asshole alive and loved it. Most of the managers kissed his ass, and went along with the ridiculous game. I had reps who were, without question, great reps in every category.